What is Halal?
Halal is an Arabic word meaning “lawful” or “permissible”. Antonym of Halal is Haram, which means “unlawful” or “prohibited”. When it comes to food and food products, Halal food is standard for all Muslims. All things pure and clean foods are considered Halal with the following exceptions:
– Hog / pork meat and its by-products.
– Animals improperly slaughtered or dead before slaughtering.
– Animals slaughtered in the name of anyone but Allah (God).
– Alcohol and drugs.
– Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and reptiles.
– Blood and blood by-products.
– Food contaminated with any of the above products.